top of page

New Essentials: Product Review

So the other week I ran out of moisturiser and I was running low on face wash as well, so I went to buy some new products (and picked up a couple of extras whilst I was out!).

I'm a pretty simple gal when it comes to products, I don't care for big name brands so much, I like using something affordable because its just as good as the expensive stuff. But my top three English brands that I do use are: Origins (Cheeks and balances frothy face wash, £16.50), Simple (moisturiser with SPF, £4.35 and make-up remover, £3.45) and the Body Shop (lots of different products)

  1. I bought a new face wash from Kiko's, called Pure Clean Foam €7.90 (£6.85) to replace my Origins face wash which had run out (for me it lasts one year). The bottle it is in is really nice and sleek, very simple and has a pump head. The first time I used this face wash was in the morning when I didn't have any makeup on. When pumping it out I used 2 or 3 pumps which was plenty, it was very foamy (not necessarily a bad thing!). I did notice a slight fragrance, but I still cannot put my finger on what exactly it is, this I don't mind as it's not a bad smell but I think I'd prefer without fragrance. Later, I read the description online (I didn't notice anything on the bottle description saying it was fragranced) and on the website it says it has a delicate fragrance of magnolia and peach.

It was very soft and easy to apply as it says, but I didn't feel like it was really cleansing as much as I'd want. I think I prefer myself to make it foamy rather than it already being foamy. Furthermore I didn't get a tight feeling on my face after washing, yes I felt it was cleaner and tighter but previously with my Origins wash it felt even better. It's good, but personally I prefer my old face wash: 6/10

  1. Another product from Kiko's was a random buy, I liked the look and sound of the Solar Protect Balm SPF 20 €6.20 (£5.40) so I thought, why not! It's a beautiful product, with a beautiful case. It's easy to apply and feels nice on the lips, the colour is very pigmented and I love it. But it does have a slight taste to it, whether this is good or bad I cannot decide yet but I wasn't expecting it, I guess it's to do with the fragrance (which is great BTW!). It's a lovely colour, I got it in exotic fruit (bright coral), but its also available in coconut (pale pink) which is equally a beautiful colour.

I really rate this lipstick, really pigmented, lovely fragrance AND it has SPF! Solid 10/10

  1. Similar to the lipstick, whist in Kiko's I was sucked into another impulse buy which was Glitter Mascara €7.20 (£6.25). It seems to be a really nice mascara and does exactly what you'd expect and make your eyelashes glitter and glisten in the light, but my issue with it is that when it dries it feels crunchy and I think it looks a bit white. I have yet to reach a decision whether this is just me or it does actually look white. Needs further testing, but it's a promising product so I'd give it a 8/10

  1. For moisturiser, I just wanted to find a cheap and simple moisturiser, preferably with SPF in it. I found Garnier Hydration+ Energy. It does not have an SPF but it was one of the cheapest I could find at €7.99 (£6.95). The packaging was really nice it is in a little box with the pot inside. When I first used the product I was surprised when I opened it, as it looked like a face mask and has the consistency of a gooey gel. Once you get over this it is a really nice moisturiser, I use it everyday and it leaves my skin feeling hydrated and soft. It has a very thin texture which makes it really easy to apply and spread/massage into your face and leaves an almost silky soft feel! It does what it says on the tin, so I'd say 10/10!

Overall I'm really happy with my buys and would recommend them for others! :D

I'd love to hear if any of you have these products, what are your thoughts on them?

SaveSaveSave

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page