top of page

Nottingham Bars


 

After living in Nottingham for nearly 5 months I've found out it's a pretty cool city to live in if you're a student (just to clarify it only took me until the end of freshers week to know I was in a good place) but, I have found some really cool and quirky places that I want to share with you guys so right now these are my favourite five bars to go to in Nottingham!

Das kino

This is such a cool place, I've been here a few times. Interestingly, Das Kino means ' the cinema' in German and they try to retain an old WW2 cinema vibe in the decor. It's quite edgy in that sense and a really popular scene, especially on a Friday night.

https://www.instagram.com/daskinonotts/

One of the best things at Das kino are the Pizza's and one of my favourites are the wedges that they do. So far I've tried these pizzas:

  • El Clasico (essentially a magherita)

  • Costa del Kino (chorizo, rocket and red pepper)

  • The Hacksaw Jim Duggan (the best meat feast ever!) All of which I highly recommend, they also do vegan and gluten free pizzas. I got the three pizzas listen above when I was out with a group. We got a 'pizza package' which included wine, pizza and wedges and we got exclusive use of the ping-pong tables for about an hour. There's also options to have pizza packages with cocktails or prosecco but that costs more, and basically I'm cheap! Another awesome thing you should know about Das kino is that they have three ping-pong tables which you can play and below is The Bowery Club which sometimes opens up over both floors and you can play ping-pong whilst out clubbing with your mates.

Fat Cat

This place is pretty cool. It's spacious, across two quite large floors and have really good cocktails, which are two for one every night... EVERY NIGHT! And that's the main reason for my visits!

http://fcrewards.co.uk/nottingham/index.html

They also do student discount on food. The food here is really nice, I've eaten there twice. Once for our Equestrian Club Christmas dinner, where I had a vegetarian mushroom crêpe and chocolate tart (both delicious, and the roast vegetable sides were lovely too), I then went again on Monday with a friend we had cocktails and some snack food: onion rings and sweet potato fries, yum!

Gypsy Lounge Filthy's Gypsy Lounge is another kind of quirky bar in Nottingham. I'd have to say my favourite part is the upstairs room. It's a bit more glam and has lots of nice seating. The downstairs, is very much a gypsy-traveller vibe and very individual.

http://www.filthysnottingham.com/filthys/

They host loads of music nights, like band performances, gigs, karaoke nights etc. but you can also just drop in during the week for some drinks and food if your up for something a bit different then this is defintely a good place to go.

The Rum House/bad Ju ju's Tiki Shak

This place is similar to Filthy's Gypsy Lounge in the way that there are two really different rooms.

https://www.facebook.com/rumhousenottingham/timeline

Down stairs there is the sleek Rum House, but upstairs it changes completely and it's the Tiki Shak, very caribbean and colourful! They do event/club nights and special events which are usually open across both floors.

Food and cocktails are amazing here, they also do tapas!

Lace House

The Lace House is a really cool place, it's often used for student bands to show case. They sometimes have ping-pong tables set up on the ground level floor and it has lots of comfy sofas to chill out on.

https://www.facebook.com/thelacehouse/

They also have a downstairs area which is effectively a club. Here they play more house music and it's a lot more dark underground vibes... well, it is downstairs afterall! The drinks can be slightly more expensive here but you're paying for quality as well. They also do a few bespoke cocktails too which are really nice and interesting flavours.

Maybe I'll see you around next time I'm in town

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page